Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Dec 24, 2019

In the book, "How To Be An Adult In Relationships - Five Keys to Mindful Living," David Richo offers us 5 essential practices of love. 

David calls these practices the "Five A's," which are attention, acceptance, appreciation, affection, and allowing.

"What we need for the building of a self is precisely what we need for happiness in our adult love relationships." by David Richo

(Please listen to the podcast episode or read the transcript to hear explanations, stories and examples.) 


In this episode, Dr. Jessica Higgins discusses: 

  • Our human need for the 5 A's occurs throughout our lifespan in order to thrive and feel secure. 
  • Giving and receiving the 5 A's with a significant other can reduce stress, anxiety, depression, as well as can help heal wounds from previous relationship trauma. 
  • The importance of giving the 5 A's to others AND giving the 5 A's to ourselves. 
  • A description of the first 2 (of the 5) A's: Attention and Acceptance.

"Love from another adult does more than just satisfy us in the present. It ripples back in time for us, repairing, restoring, and renovating an inadequate past." by David Richo



Website: David Richo's website

Book: How To Be An Adult In Relationships - Five Keys to Mindful Living, by David Richo


Connect with Dr. Jessica Higgins:  






Twitter: @DrJessHiggins 




If you have a topic you would like me to discuss, please contact me by clicking on the “Ask Dr. Jessica Higgins” button here. 


Thank you so much for your interest in improving your relationship. 


Also, I would so appreciate your honest rating and review. Please leave a review by clicking here


Thank you!  


If you are interested in developing new skills to overcome relationship challenges, please consider taking the Connected Couple Program or engaging in relationship coaching work with me.